24 Oct 20. Falling.

Meditation is so very different now when, while maintaining focus on the breath in the body, I also hold in mind the teachings of the Buddha: 4 Noble Truths, 3 Marks of Existence, 5 Hindrances, 7 Factors of Awakening.

No, not mentally repeating them, just knowing them by heart.

When I sit, I simply remember that:

  • No pleasant thought will ever bring me fulfilment.
  • No unpleasant thought will ever last.

Meditation is so different now from what it was in the past: just maintaining focus and almost mechanically bringing my attention back to the breathing whenever my mind went astray.

The joy of meditation is like falling and missing the earth.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s